Home > About us > Universities UK Board

Universities UK Board

The 24-person Board is elected by our members. It includes the president; vice-presidents for Scotland, Wales, and England and Northern Ireland; the treasurer and the chairs of the Policy Networks. The president nominates up to six other members to serve on the board.

The board is our main decision-making body and meets five times a year. It focuses on UK-wide issues and those issues in the constituent nations of the UK that have UK-wide implications or interest.

Current board members​

Universities UK President and Chair                    

Professor Dame ​Janet Beer DBE, University of Liverpool                             to 31 July 2019



Sir David Bell – England and Northern Ireland                                              to 31 July 2019

Professor Andrea Nolan OBE – Scotland                                                      to 31 July 2020

Professor Julie Lydon OBE – Wales                                                        to 31 July 2019



Professor Julia Buckingham CBE, Brunel University London                        to 31 July 2020


Elected members

Professor G.Q. Max Lu, University of Surrey                                                  to 31 July 2019

Professor David Maguire, University of Greenwich                                         to 31 July 2019

Professor Sir Anton Muscatelli, University of Glasgow                                    to 31 July 2019

Professor Patrick Nixon, Ulster University                                                       to 31 July 2021

Mr Bill Rammell, University of Bedfordshire                                                    to 31 July 2021

Professor Rama Thirunamachandran, Canterbury Christ Church University to 31 July 2019

Policy Network Chairs

​Professor David Phoenix OBE – Funding                                                      to 31 July 2021

Professor Alistair Fitt – Health Education and Research                               to 31 July 2020

Professor Quintin McKellar CBE – Innovation and Growth                            to 31 July 2021​

Professor Sir Steve Smith – International                                                      to 31 July 2020

Professor Graham Galbraith – Longer Term Strategy                                   to 31 July 2021

Professor Paul Boyle CBE – Research                                                         to 31 July 2020

Professor Debra Humphris – Student                                                            to 31 July 2021​​

President's nominees

Baroness Valerie Amos CH, SOAS, University of London                            to 31 July 2019

Mr Nigel Carrington, University of the Arts London                                       to 31 July 2019

Professor Sir David Eastwood, University of Birmingham                            to 31 July 2019

Sir Alan Langlands, University of Leeds                                                       to 31 July 2019

Professor Sally Mapstone, University of St Andrews                                    to 31 July 2019

Professor Louise Richardson, University of Oxford                               to 31 July 2019

Professor Geoff Layer

Professor Dame Janet Beer

Universities UK

Alistair Jarvis

Alistair Jarvis

Chief Executive
Universities UK

Nicky Old

Nicky Old

Director, Communications and External Relations
Universities UK

Chris Hale

Chris Hale

Director of Policy
Universities UK

Vivienne Stern

Vivienne Stern

Universities UK International

Amanda Wilkinson

Amanda Wilkinson

Director, Universities Wales
Universities Wales