

Board Advisory Committee

Terms of reference and membership

Terms of reference

The Board Advisory Committee meets four times a year (January, March, June, and October).

The role of the Board Advisory Committee is to advise the UUK Board, unless the Board specifically delegates a decision to the Committee. This includes making recommendations to the Board. The Advisory Committee can also advise and act on behalf of the Board, in between Board meetings, where an issue is time critical and where a Board decision is not required.

The advice that the Advisory Committee offers to the Board primarily covers the following: political and external context; policy and regulatory developments; positioning of UUK in public policy discussions and the media; stakeholder relationships; funding opportunities and initiatives; reputational issues; UUK campaigns; and early advice on new programmes of work and projects that align with UUK's Strategic Plan.

The Board Advisory Committee also advises on the development of the agenda for each Board meeting.

The membership of the Board Advisory Committee comprises: the President; the three Vice-Presidents (England and Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales); and the Treasurer.

Members serve for two years, renewable once (commensurate with their terms of office), except the President who serves for one two- year term (commensurate with the term of office).

Members of the UUK Senior Leadership Team (SLT) attend the Board Advisory Committee to ensure effective dialogue between the Committee and the SLT.

The SLT comprises: the Chief executive; Director of Communications and External Relations; Director of Universities UK International; Director of Member Services; Director of Operations; Director of Policy; Director of Universities Scotland; and Director of Universities Wales.

Current membership

The current membership of the Board Advisory Committee is as follows:

President (Chair)	Professor Steve West CBE	Vice-Chancellor, President and Chief Executive, University of the West of England, Bristol	To 31 July 2023
Vice-President (England & Northern Ireland)	Professor Quintin McKellar CBE	Vice-Chancellor, University of Hertfordshire	To 31 July 2024
Vice-President (Scotland)	Professor Dame Sally Mapstone DBE	Principal and Vice- Chancellor, University of St Andrews and Convener Universities Scotland	To 31 July 2024
Vice-President (Wales)	Professor Elizabeth Treasure	Vice-Chancellor, Aberystwyth University and Chair Universities Wales	To 31 July 2023
Treasurer	Stephen Marston	Vice-Chancellor, University of Gloucestershire	To 31 July 2024

August 2022