UUK Open Access Coordination Group

The UUK Open Access Coordination Group worked to ensure that the activities to support the transition towards open access in the UK were effectively coordinated, and that progress towards transition was monitored. The group has been disbanded, following the announcement of UKRI's review of open access policy and the publication of Plan S.

The group has no formal powers, but brings funders, institutions, publishers and other stakeholders together to recognise and explore challenges, and to build and maintain a close and constructive dialogue. The Coordination Group has five core objectives: 

  • Developing and interpreting the data and evidence base on the implementation of open access in priority areas 
  • Coordinating related research and activity being undertaken by stakeholders 
  • Commissioning research to fill gaps in the evidence
  • Providing advice on policy and the direction of implementation of open access 
  • Providing advice on the coordination and development of open access infrastructure

The Coordination Group commissioned the first monitoring report on the Transition towards Open Access in 2015. A summary document has also been developed. A second monitoring report was completed in December 2017.

​​Group Membership

Full members
  • Professor Adam Tickell, Vice-Chancellor, University of Sussex, Independent Chair
  • Dr Laura Bellingan, Head of Science Policy, the Royal Society of Biology
  • Liam Earney, Director, Jisc Collections, Representing Jisc
  • Steven Hall, Managing Director, Institute of Physics Publishing
  • Gemma Hersh, Policy Director, Elsevier, Representing the Publishers Association 
  • Dr Steven Hill, Head of Research Policy, Research England
  • Kitty Inglis, Librarian, University of Sussex, Representing the Society of College, National & University Libraries (SCONUL)
  • Dr Simon Kerridge, Director of Research Services, University of Kent, Representing the Association of Research Managers and Administrators (ARMA)
  • Dr Robert Kiley, Head of Digital Services, Wellcome Trust
  • Dr Mark Patterson, Executive Director, eLife
  • Dr David Prosser, Executive Director, Research Libraries UK (RLUK)
  • Dr Torsten Reimer, Head of Research Services, British Library
  • Dr Alexandra Vincent, Associate Director, Policy and Analysis, UK Research and Innovation
  • Dr Emma Wilson, Publishing Director, Journals, Books and Databases, Royal Society of Chemistry, Representing the Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers (ALPSP)
  • Professor Yvonne Barnett, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Head of College, Science, Nottingham Trent University, Observer and Chair of Open Access Service Standards working group
  • Anne Horn, University Librarian, University of Sheffield, Observer and Chair of Open Access Repositories working group
  • Professor Shearer West, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Sheffield, Observer and Chair of Open Access Monographs working group
  • Dr Tim Bradshaw, Acting Director, The Russell Group, Observer, representing the Russell Group
  • Dr Michael Jubb, Independent Consultant, Jubb Consulting, Observer
  • Mr Nick Starkey, Deputy Director, Science & Research, Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy (BEIS), Observer
  • Dr Neil Jacobs, Programme Director, Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy (BEIS), Observer

The coordination group has established four working groups to support the transition towards Open Access in the UK:

 Open Access Efficiencies Forum

  • Chair: Steven Hall, Managing director, IOP Publishing
  • Secretariat: Anna Vernon, Services Manager, Jisc Collections
  • General remit: to investigate and identify solutions to process and infrastructure-side inefficiencies, to enable smoother operation for librarians, researchers and publishers.

Open Access Monographs working group

  • Chair: Professor Roger Kain, Professor of the Humanities, School of Advanced Study.
  • Secretariat: Helen Snaith, HE Policy Adviser,  Research England
  • General remit: to promote and educate on Open Access Monographs, to enable more academic books (particularly in Arts and Humanities) to be made available via open access.

Open Access Repositories working group

  • Chair: Anne Horn, Director of Library Services and University Librarian, University of Sheffield
  • Secretariat: David Ross, Executive Director - Open Access, SAGE Publications
  • General remit: to investigate and seek solutions to issues around the interoperability of institutional and publisher repositories (data warehouses) which host open access articles. Also, looking to assist long-term curation of articles.

Open Access Service standards working group

  • Co-Chairs: Professor Yvonne Barnett, PVC-Research, Nottingham Trent University and Audrey McCulloch, Chief Executive and Company Secretary, Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers (ALPSP)
  • Secretariat: Dr Michael Jubb, Independent Consultant
  • Remit: to identify and articulate service level expectations of all major stakeholders, and produce a summary 'good practice guide' to assist all parties in smoothly achieving open access outputs.

 Meeting papers and associated documentation will be periodically made available in the section below.


Monitoring the transition to open access: December 2017

5 December 2017
The second in a series of reports commissioned by the Universities UK Open Access Coordination Group, to examine recent trends in open access publishing.

Monitoring the transition to open access: August 2015

4 August 2015
A study commissioned in response to a recommendation of the Finch Group that reliable indicators should be gathered on key features of the transition to open access in the UK.

 The team

Samuel Roseveare

Samuel Roseveare

Policy Manager
Universities UK
OA Monographs_Meeting1_papers.pdf
OA MonographsWG_ToR_and_Membership.pdf
Paper 1 - UUK OACG meeting note 07.07.2017_v2.pdf
UUK OACG_07072017_combined papers.pdf